Six team owners added to the Overwatch League

The Overwatch League now has twenty team owners total.

Based on a report from IGN, it was revealed that six new team owners have been added to the Overwatch League. This news comes after Guangzhou and Atlanta were added to the Overwatch League just last month. The roster now features twenty team owners, nine of which are located outside the United States.

The six new team owners added to the Overwatch League include Hangzhou, Chengdu, Toronto, Vancouver, Paris, and Washington, D.C. Activision Blizzard’s Bobby Kotick commented on the addition of new team owners:

“The Overwatch League’s inaugural season was a great success. This past season alone, fans spent 160 million hours watching the leading Overwatch players in the world compete. We are thrilled to add eight new outstanding team owners from Europe, China, and North America to our Overwatch League ownership group. We now have twenty of the very best owners in professional sports.”

© The Overwatch League

According to CEO and president of Activision Blizzard Esports Leagues, Pete Vlastelica, these new teams will help grow the league “in important regions around the globe.” It’s exciting to hear that the Overwatch League is rapidly expanding its selection of team owners, having added a total of eight over the last month.

Additionally, Disney signed a deal with Blizzard in July centered around broadcasting the Overwatch League alongside ESPN and ABC. Overall, big things are happening in the Overwatch League! What do you think of the news that six new team owners have been added to the Overwatch League? Let us know your thoughts down in the comments below!

Morgan is a writer, indie game lover, and socially awkward coffee addict. Need something? Morgan can be reached at or if you like, you can say hello using GIFs on Twitter.


Shop Now

Xbox Products

Shop Now