How to fix Baldur's Gate 3's syncing Cloud save bug

If Baldur's Gate 3 is stuck syncing your save state to the Cloud, here's how to free it up so you can save the game once more.

If you find yourself unable to save in Baldur’s Gate 3 with an error that “the game is currently syncing,” fear not. You’ll likely also see the message “Syncing Cloud Save” appear permanently in the top left of the screen, seemingly unable to finish the process. This is an unfortunately common issue with BG3, but thankfully it seems to have a fairly straightforward solution that won’t lose you any progress.

The “Syncing Cloud Save” bug is an especially likely to occur for Steam Deck users, who will probably to need Cloud-based cross-saves to play the same campaign on both PC and their Steam Deck. Thankfully, we’ve managed to consistently fix the save syncing error with the method below, allowing us to continue playing with Cross-Save enabled.

How to fix Baldur’s Gate 3’s syncing Cloud save bug

How to fix baldur's gate 3's syncing cloud save bug
 
© Larian

To fix the Baldur’s Gate 3 syncing save state bug, the first thing to do is open up the game’s menu and find the Cross-Save option under Gameplay. We were able to repeatedly fix the save state syncing bug by switching Cross-Save off and on again several times. 

Each time you deactivate or reactivate Cross-Save, leave the pause menu and check the “Syncing Cloud Save” message in the top left. Give it a few seconds, and if it doesn’t disappear, open the menu and select Cross-Save again. After a few off-on switches, the game should successfully sync and the message will disappear. You should then be able to save again as normal.

If you’re still not having any luck with the method above, some users have also reported success in closing the game after disabling Cross-Save, but be warned: this will lose any progress you’ve made since the previous save. In this case, it’s wise to attempt to trigger an autosave before quitting. You’ll then want to use the local save file rather than the cloud save when restarting the game.

If you don’t care about playing on other devices, you can turn off Cross-Save permanently once the bug has been resolved. However, we’d generally recommend keeping it on unless you’re encountering this bug an infuriating number of times.

That’s all we can offer as a fix for Baldur’s Gate 3 syncing Cloud save bug. For help when it comes to the gameplay, check out these tips and tricks beginners will likely miss.

Associate Editor

Henry Stenhouse serves an eternal punishment as the Associate Editor of AllGamers. He spent his younger life studying the laws of physics, even going so far as to complete a PhD in the subject before video games stole his soul. Confess your love of Super Smash Bros. via email at henry@moonrock.biz, or catch him on Twitter.

Xbox Products

Shop Now

Mice

Shop Now